National Association of Attorneys General

The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) counts among its members the Attorneys General of the 50 states and the District of Columbia and the chief legal officers of the Commonwealths of Puerto Rico and the Northern Mariana Islands, and the territories of American Samoa, Guam, and the Virgin Islands. Attorneys General are the chief legal officers in their respective states and serve as counselors for state government agencies and the legislature and as representatives of the public interest. It is often said that Attorneys General occupy the intersection of law and public policy, dealing in areas as diverse as consumer protection, drug policy, and environmental protection. Through NAAG, Attorneys General are drawn together to work collectively on legal and public policy issues of common concern.